Stuck in the Elevator

Having got stuck in an elevator in one of Kigali’s tallest building; I continued to prove more with confirmation how learning never stops. Okay, as I had to reach the 13th floor for an appointment, already set and ready; I made my way into the elevator-it was my second time I guess.

I noticed nothing at first apart from the two strangers I was with; the first one leaving at the 4th floor after I being awakened by the elevator bell since I was lost in my ‘fears for freights and heights’ watching how high above I got. I didn’t notice the second one leaving but soon I realized this thing stopping and letting in another person. What I kept asking myself was ‘Why I wasn’t getting to my destination, like the others!’

I soon ran out of patience for this ‘thing’, after noticing that I had again returned to my first point of entrance- which I later learnt to be the ‘Ground floor’ with close attention as other two strangers conversed in affirmation that it was their destination, and with one reaching out for the buttons on the wall then pressing ‘G’, Oh!, stupid I felt; but glad I was progressing- mastering the technique of ‘using an elevator’!!!

This time, I too had to press 13 and in a nick of time I was there- at the 13th floor!

Am not to blame; I didn’t study this- not even through a few physics lessons!, and when one lad asked amidst laughter- why I hadn’t taken the ‘stairway’, I honestly replied, “I just wanted to try out the new technology!.”

I guess it paid off!!!           

5 thoughts on “Stuck in the Elevator

  1. Indeed, it was good and nice experience cos learning never stops.
    let me hope that now you have no phobia for freights any more. in fact if it was mi,
    i would first panic, develop goose pimples etc.
    But what i learn is dat, we should always try to think out of the box.or even try our own initiatives but not just wait to be taught everything. thus experiencing life and its changes.
    THAT WAS A NICE EXPERIENCE. congs…

    Like

  2. This so amaizing andrew!! and aspecial lesson inaddition of a very nice experience got bu why cant i share u the same experience! it wasnt u the first coz i’ve ever been in the same situation @ Simba Super Market,look the same thing how ever to me iwas quickly saved after seeing other passangers coming and pressing buttons coz i was to stop on the 4th floor but unfortunately reached there and came back.oh! my!! but iwish u could see how istood on myself as 1 who has ever went to school! bt again that couldnt stop the elevator to comin as anew school,a new student before anew teacher,studying anew subject,thus how ithink that many more classes are attended outside our usual schools.so lets think of what we call experienc as our best equiped teacher.not so? hw do think dat thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

